Doug Giles: Gutless Leaders And Effeminate Men

A friend sent me this link by Doug Giles. Its full title is,

“God’s Judging America: He’s Giving Us Gutless Leaders And Effeminate Men.”

http://townhall.com/columnists/douggiles/2013/10/27/gods-judging-america-hes-giving-us-gutless-leaders-and-effeminate-men-n1732290/page/full

Comments most welcome. — Mustard

7 comments on “Doug Giles: Gutless Leaders And Effeminate Men

  1. Jadams07 says:

    I think that I have been struggling with this alot lately. Whereas I see that the rugged individual being the Lord of his castle and owning a small business or farm is the model I see in O.I. of the founding fathers, I do not know if that mindset lends itself very well to the corporate model of church/community found in scripture. I believe that he is right about several things but I do not like where his mindset has gone in our country. I also do not like the other side of the coin either. For awhile I feel like I have been flipping the coin and hoping it lands on its side. I see the need for more rugged individuality in my own life, but I definitely see the need for more community and a corporate response to things in the church.

    Damned if I do and Damned if I don’t.

    Wheres that mixture of John Wayne and St. Francis that the church needs 🙂

  2. I am not sure that the lack of “masculinity” has much to do with downfall of the West, but I would argue that the decline in the reach for quality has everything to do with it. When I say “quality” I do not mean good, I mean REAL and CLASSY. Of course these are descriptive words in an attempt to describe something that has no definable definition. Quality is something that can only be experienced and most of us have experienced it at one time or another. I believe that masculinity applies to the quality of a man, but what I am saying is that it is more than that it is the quality of men, women, children, the church and the government that is lacking. Of course I could be wrong.

  3. Bert says:

    I thought everybody knew that there are no men left in politics or entertainment or anywhere in the grand ole National Stage. If you want to meet men, you must go find them in your community. They probably exist there. If you stay home and only view TV and internet, you will mostly miss them.

  4. Bert says:

    Oh, BTW, “I take my scripture straight, same way I take my whiskey” (notice the “e”) is a line I will take and use.

Leave a Reply

