Libertarianism As Moral Overlearning

This is a link to a post that I discovered just today.

http://econlog.econlib.org/archives/2013/08/libertarianism_3.html

I learned something good from reading it, that ties back to my own life-long experience as a learner and a teacher — history, mathematics, accounting, physical science, Bible, geography, logic, civics, outdoor education, computer programming, church history, self-education, team-organization, outdoor emergency medicine.  ( In the order in which I have taught it, not learned it.  Yes, I am “credentialed” in most of these subjects, if that matters, and for most practical purposes, it doesn’t matter.  Of course, for legal purposes, it does matter, as we are constantly reminded.  And many of you who managed to land here are quite capable in some of these and many other fields, credentialed or not. )

Right now I am intensely interested in things Christian and libertarian.  “Christian” as in, having the Mind of Christ.  Libertarian, as in liberty, not membership in the Libertarian Party (I am not opposed to the Libertarian Party, either), or even “libertarianISM,” as a self-contained school of thought that needs to be magnified against any and all competitors.

I am thinking about writing a book about Christian libertarian thinking, from my own point of view, and found this post worthwhile.  Given that I am considering a project of writing a worthwhile book on the subject, I really would appreciate comments (and links) on this subject, whether pro or con.  It should be helpful in clarifying my own thinking.

3 comments on “Libertarianism As Moral Overlearning

  1. jadams85 says:

    One thought I have related to the Mind of Christ/ Liberty is that the Scriptures focus a great deal more on how I treat others than how others treat me.

    In recent years (especially since 9/11), Libertarianism has indeed gained ground in our culture. Unfortunately, many popular voices (Alex Jones immediately comes to mind) collectively announce (as loudly as possible), “You can’t treat us like this,” which contradicts the Law, Christ, and the Apostles, who together assert, “I must bless you when you curse me.”

    So, perhaps a chapter in your book could be titled “Pitfalls of Pop Libertarianism, Post 9/11.”

Leave a Reply

